The Miraculous & Disgusting Apple Cider Vinegar

Thanks to a group of my very healthenlightened friends, I have been on an apple cider vinegar routine.  Just typing those words make me cringe.  For any who have attempted this feat, you must already know the horror of the flavor, stench and bite this absolutely amazing drink carries.  For all its hassle, apple cider vinegar is a modern day panacea.  If you can stomach the punch, you’ll be greatly rewarded with a plethora of health benefits.  I find the classic saying—No pain, no gain—very pertinent.

Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV from now on) is an ancient healing remedy.  I was first introduced to it by my father, who I swore was crazy for even buying the stuff.  It turns out, health gurus from as early as 3000 BC were downing this ‘delightful’ drink.  We are able to confirm ACV usage back in ancient Egypt.  It was used as a healing remedy in Babylonia (Egypt) and travelled out of the Fertile Crescent towards ancient Greece and the Roman Empire where enlightened thinkers such as Hippocrates (400BC) and Julius Caesar (100BC) used it for its cleansing properties.  As it reached further out, it headed towards Japan, where samurais used it for strength.  It is recorded that in biblical times it was considered as one of the world’s first antiseptics. In more recent times, it was used during the Middle Ages in Paris as a body deodorant and healing tonic.  Christopher Columbus and his crew drank it to prevent scurvy.  And according to Bragg, it was even used in the US Civil war to prevent disease amongst soldiers.

In the wrong hands, ACV could ultimately lead to the annihilation of millions!

It’s obvious many people across many culture and timespans understood the benefits of ACV.  But that still leaves us with a few questions.  First, what is it?

ACV is made from crushed apples that are allowed to mature naturally in wooden barrels (obviously today methods may vary).  Wood was the container of choice as it boosts fermentation.  ACV carries a rich brown color and the stuff you want to drink has a “mother” floating in it.  The mother is a cob-web like structure that will hang around the bottom of the container.  This is an ESSENTIAL part of choosing the correct ACV. It indicates that the brew is raw and alive, which means it has not been pasteurized.  Once it is pasteurized, just like any other living food, many nutrients and enzymes are destroyed.  The mother is essentially a large mass of enzymes stuck together.

Next on my list: Homemade Apple Cider Vinegar

Now, the second question usually goes like this: What does ACV really do?  There is a ton of undocumented heresay about the healing properties of ACV, but what has actually been shown to work scientifically?

To this I answer in two parts. One: stop thinking so scientifically. There are many areas of existence that science is still incapable of measuring and just because science can’t see something does not mean it doesn’t exist. And because I know that’s not going to cut it for many people, two: There is a TON of science behind ACV.

In 2007, a study published in “Diabetes Care” found that those with type two diabetes who took 2 tbsp. of ACV before bedtime showed favorable changes in blood sugar levels the next morning.  In 2009, a Bioscience, Biotechnology, and Biochemistry study found obese people who consumed ACV daily for 12 weeks showed significant decrease in body weight.  It is also scientifically understood that ACV restores alkalinity in the body (an important factor as our acidic diets invite favorable conditions for disease).

Some less scientifically studied, but widely proven ACV benefits are healing dandruff, reducing acne and supporting regularity in digestion.

If Johnny Appleseed knew about the healing power he was spreading...

So the third question: How do you drink it?

Well, this is an ongoing pursuit for me, but I started out with just 2 tbsp of ACV in 1/2 C of water with the juice of one lemon. This was slightly less painful than just taking a pure shot (which is highly not recommended as it can lead to enamel loss and possibly burning sensitive tissues in the throat).  Next, I tried 2 tbps ACV and a cup of apple juice.  This drink tasted much better.  However, I don’t know about you, but I love my apple juice and I’d rather not waste it masking the flavor of ACV.  So this led me to my current option, which is the best I have found so far.

I take 1 0z. ACV squeeze 1/4 ruby red grapefruit, 1/2 orange (can be a blood orange, tangerine, or regular orange), and 1/2 lime (depending on size maybe 1/4).  I mix this all together and get about 3 oz. of liquids and chug it down.  It still leaves a nasty after taste, but I’m working on it.

If it only tasted like how this picture looks...

Personally, I will attest to the energetic properties of ACV.  Not only do I take it every morning to get up and go, but it sustains me through the morning hours.  What actually inspired me to write this very detailed post on ACV was the shot I just took of it.  You can feel energy right away and the heat in your stomach and digestive system is very apparent.  Give it a try and let me know in the comments what you think.  Also if you have a secret recipe PLEASE let me know.  I’m dying to find the best one so that I can make my mornings a little more pleasant =)

12 thoughts on “The Miraculous & Disgusting Apple Cider Vinegar

  1. I tried to take a shot of ACV straight one morning and almost puked. It is not pleasant. So I was really, really surprised when I found a great recipe for making it into a dressing. I pretty much use it on all of my salads now. It’s super simple. Just a 1:2 ratio of ACV to EVOO. I’ve also been told that if you mix it with a cup of warm water and honey it is easier to drink on it’s own in the morning. (You could use local honey to boost medicinal properties) But I haven’t tried this method so be careful! hahaha.

  2. Sorry, but apple cider vinegar is absolutely the most putrid, foul-smelling, vile, disgusting substance on earth! I cannot understand how anyone could even go near it without becoming nauseous. I don’t believe that it is a substance humans were ever meant to be around, let alone consume. ::shudders:: I’d sooner spend a week in a sewer system than one minute around ACV, that stuff carries the stench of the devil himself!

  3. Hi, Have tried the vinegar/water/honey recipe as suggested on the bottle (biona acv), oh it is horrid! I too am on a quest to find a recipe to make it more palatable!

    • Just tried this – as per Christine’s reply …..1 tbsp AVC, 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil and three or four grinds of ASDA ‘Herb & Roasted Garlic Grinder’ – it only makes a tiny bit to try, but as a salad dressing it is pretty nice! I poured most of it onto a crust of good heavy wholemeal bread and let it soak in a bit – very tasty! hoorah!

  4. I tried drinking it straight, I nearly threw up, most disgusting thing ever. Also I could I feel it burning my tongue, I quite bizarre sensation.

  5. Not sure what others are complaining about re. the taste.
    I find the taste quite flavourful actually, after diluting with water. 1 tbsp/2 cups. Sometimes I put in a bit of honey (i tbsp) as I find that sometimes just the plain ACD+H2O gives me a throat itch; the honey soothes it.

  6. Like the author, I would never recommend that you drink this straight. I’ve read several articles that say ACV can negatively affect tooth enamel, but that’s the only bad that I’ve read about it, aside from the awful taste. I’ve tried mixing it with honey and drinking the combo as a cough remedy, also not recommended. I’ve now made it part of my regular routine by simply putting a 1/2 shot into a large glass of water twice daily. I have a bottle at home and a bottle at work, and this is easy to mix because you don’t need to worry about having other ingredients on hand. With it’s tartness, this helps curb my desire for sweets, which has always been my weakness.

  7. Okay…so I must agree about all you have said about ACV. I usually mix about 2 tablespoons with the V8 fruit medley juice, or any other flavor I have handy (my daughter loves every variety) and although you can still slighty taste it, it is much better!!! I have to add that my friend has suffered with the herpes simplex virus (cold sores) and when applied directly drastically lessens the time spent with the sores. And through some research on the benefits of ACV many people have said out works for the other type of HSV as well. I also use it as an astringent and it works wonders on acne and wrinkles believe it or not! The benefits ACV are endless!

  8. Hello everyone – Ok, I have the simplest mix in the world and it is absolutely easy to drink. Orange Juice and ACV, that is my simple trick. You do not even taste the ACV, works wonders!

Leave a Reply

